top of page

The Diary of a Young Girl: Anne Frank by Anne Frank


The Diary of a Young Girl has no plot. This book is about a girl named, Anne Frank, who goes into hiding in World War II. They hide in the ‘Secret Annexe’ for two long years. Anne’s diary confronts many common teenage thoughts and issues. Anne sadly hates her mother and grows very independent, straining the relationship with her entire family. Anne’s diary ends very suddenly. It is now known that Anne died in concentration camp, Bergen-Belsen, on 12 March, 1945 and her sister Margot days later. The only survivor was her father; Otto Frank, who made sure his daughter’s story, was heard. I liked everything about this book.

The entry to the Secret Annexe was hidden behind a bookcase. Today, you can visit the Frank’s hiding place and the bookcase remains where it was, many years ago. I didn’t dislike anything within the book; however, the only thing I think that is slightly sad is that the grammar and language used was edited.

I believe Anne’s diary should have been published how it originally was no matter how bad the language and grammar was. I think it would be rude and disrespectful to change anything within the book and I also don’t see it as necessary. If I had been the publishing company however, I wouldn’t have changed any of the language as I stated above.

If you love a World War II read, I definitely recommend this book, not just for girls, I think that boys would also respect this book. I would recommend this book for 12 year olds and up, however, a mature 10 year old could read The Diary of a Young Girl: Anne Frank easily. The only reason younger children couldn’t read this diary is because of the, sometimes, mature content.

There is no real author of this book. Anne Frank simply started writing a diary about her life in hiding and the issues she had. Anne Marie Frank was born on June 12, 1929, Frankfurt, Germany.

Rating 10/10.


bottom of page