top of page

The Hunger Games - Suzanne Collins

The Hunger Games is the first in a fantastic trilogy. The story takes place in a different world where there are 12 districts and one Capitol that rules them all. Every year, each district must choose two tributes (one boy and one girl) to compete in a horrible game called the Hunger Games. The children must compete by killing each other and the last person standing wins - a gladitorial style event.

In District 12 one girl named Katniss Everdeen volunteers to compete in the Hunger Games instead of her sister, Prim. A boy named Peeta Mellark is also chosen. Katniss is sent into the arena and must use all of her wits and skills to survive.

I think this a a fantastic book and there were times I could not stop reading it. It is a very immersive book and really drew me in. I would recommend it to anyone who wants a fantastic adventure and survival story. I would recommend it to readers 10 years and up.

bottom of page